Monday, November 19, 2007

Eastern North Carolina Big Winner

The 13th Biennial North Carolina Republican Party Hall of Fame Awards Banquet was held on Saturday, November 17th at the Embassy Suites in Cary. The event was a tremendous success with several hundred Republican supporters in attendance for the festivities.

This year’s event featured a gubernatorial straw poll between the three Republican candidates for Governor: Bill Graham, Bob Orr, and Fred Smith. Fred Smith prevailed in the straw poll. Bob Orr placed second and Bill Graham finished third.

The North Carolina Republican Party's Hall of Fame was established in 1982 and became a biennial awards event in 1985. In addition to the Hall of Fame Awards by District, there are also three statewide awards, including: the Charles Raper Jonas Award, the J.E. Broyhill Award, and the John P. East Memorial Award. Two ot the three winners of these awards this year are from Eastern North Carolina.

John P. East Memorial Award
John Hawkins, Sr. (Warren County)

J. E. Broyhill Award
Robert E. Rector (Granville County)

Robert Rector, with his wife Nancy, receives his award.

Charles Raper Jonas Award
Congresswoman Sue Myrick

The inductees for 2007 to the North Carolina Republican Party Hall of Fame are listed below:
Betty Jo Shepheard, John J. Edwards, Nancy L. Cleveland, William W. Cobey, Jr., Representative Theresa Harlow Esposito, Litchard D. Hurley, Franklin E. Williams, Sr., Betty F. Lapish, Mary Frances Forrester, Durward E. Clarke, Dr. Joe L. Morgan, Julius Ceasar Cousar, Nancy R. Mazza.

I almost titled this article "John Edwards inducted into Republican Hall of Fame" but finally decided against it. As you might have figured out, it is not the same John Edwards. This John Edwards is a good guy.

Congratulations to all the winners.


Post a Comment

<< Home